
 

ARTICLE 1702 

 

Fees for the Enforcement of the  

Pennsylvania Uniform Construction Code, 

Act No. 45-1999 

 

 

 1702.01 Schedule of Fees. 

  

 

 

CROSS REFERENCES 

 

Registration, Sale and Transfer of Real Estate - See ADM. Art. 119 

 

             

 

 

1702.01 SCHEDULE OF FEES. 

 

 Delete Section 401.2.a of the Pennsylvania Uniform Construction Code and 

insert the following: 

 

(a)  Building Permit Fees 

  

 (1)   Type 1,2, & 3 Construction 

  

For inspection of each building classified as Type 1, 2 & 3 

construction, the fee shall be one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) 

for areas up to and including five hundred (500) square feet. For 

areas in excess of five hundred (500) square feet of floor area 

the fee shall be one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00), plus fifteen 

cents ($0.15) per square foot after 500 Square feet of floor area. 

 

 (2) Type 4 & 5 Construction (Frame – Section 605.0 and 606.0) 

 

For the inspection of each building classified as type 4 and 5 

construction the fee shall be one hundred twenty five dollars 

($125.00) up to and including five hundred (500) square feet of 

floor area. For areas in excess of five hundred (500) square feet 

of floor areas the fee shall be one hundred twenty five dollars 

($125.00) plus twenty cents ($0.20) per square foot after 500 

Square feet of floor area. 

  

 (3) Computation of Floor Area 

  

In computing fees, a story higher than eighteen (18) feet and not 

more than thirty (30) feet shall be considered two (2) stories; a 

story higher than thirty (30) feet and no more than forty (40) 

feet shall be considered three (3) stories; except for one (1) 

story industrial uses (use Group F). The square foot area shall be 

based on outside dimensions of the structure. All floor area shall 

be calculated on the square foot basis except those areas with 

ceiling heights under five (5) feet, or crawl spaces. 
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 (4) For the inspection of buildings for which application is made for 

  repairs or alterations, the fee shall be fifty dollars ($50.00)     

for the first five thousand dollars ($5,000) of estimated cost of 

construction. For estimated construction costs which exceed five 

thousand dollars ($5,000), the fee charged shall be 1% up to 

$500,000 cost of work plus .2% of cost of work over $500,000.00.   

 

(5) The building official shall have the right to verify or correct 

the estimated value of any proposed building, structure, addition 

or alteration.  

 

 (6) Demolition 

  

The permit fee for all buildings or structures shall be one 

hundred dollars ($100.00) for the first two thousand (2,000) 

square feet of floor area, plus ten dollars ($10.00) for each 

additional one thousand (1,000) square feet of floor area or 

fraction thereof. 

 

 (7) Moving Buildings 

  

A permit shall be granted for the moving of a building upon 

payment of a fee of two hundred dollars ($200.00) for a dwelling 

or larger building and a fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) 

shall be added for each day a street, road, alley, or lane is 

occupied by a building or moving equipment. In addition, thereto, 

a permit shall be secured for the structure at the new location in 

accord with the permit fee schedule established for new 

construction. 

 

 (8) Roof Replacement 

  

For replacement of roofing material of residential single-family 

dwellings and appurtenant structures the permit fee shall be 

$35.00. 

  

For all other roofing permits the fee shall be fifty dollars 

($50.00) for the first two thousand (2,000) square feet and ten 

dollars ($10.00) for each additional one thousand (1,000) square 

feet of roof area. 

  

(9) Swimming Pools 

  

For private above grade pools $25.00.  For all other pools, 1% of 

estimated construction costs. 

 

 See section (h) regarding State fee added to all permits. 

 

 See section (i) regarding additional reinspection fees. 

 

(b)  Electrical Fees   
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(1)   Heating, Air Conditioners, Ranges, Water Heaters and Similar 

Equipment 

    

  Per single unit        40.00 

  Each additional unit      10.00 

 

  (2)   Large Scale Industrial and Institutional - Yearly Permit Fees 

 

Large-scale industries and institutions that have a Master 

Electrician on their staff shall pay a yearly fee of $250.00.  

This fee shall cover all of the maintenance work performed in that 

year.  All new construction shall be covered under the fee 

schedule listed above.  

  

 (3)   Non-Residential Work 

 

Fee for installation of Electrical Systems in all other use 

groups, buildings new and remodeled, including Emergency Alarm 

Device, Smoke detectors, Computer wiring, or Phone Systems is as 

follows: 1% up to $30,000.00 cost of work plus .5% of cost of work 

over $30,000.00 with the minimum fee of $75.00. 

 

  (4) Nursing Homes 

  

  Three (3) year State required minimum per hour or part thereof - 

  50.00 

 

  (5) Public Pools, & Spas 

  

  Three (3) year inspection - State required 100.00 

 

  (6) Residential 

 

Fee for installation of Electrical Systems in a new single family 

dwelling, the fee per dwelling unit will be:  $100.00 

 

 Service change not over 200 amp.   40.00 

 Each additional meter     10.00 

 Service change not over 400 amp.   75.00 

 Minor alterations (one to four devices)       40.00 

   

 Alterations, Additions, or Rewire Entire House 

 Five (5) or more devices, including service 75.00 

 

(7)   Swimming Pools - Private 

  

 Above ground pool                 40.00 

 

 Permanent pool    65.00 

        

 See section (h) regarding State fee added to all permits. 

 

 See section (i) regarding additional reinspection fees. 
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(c)   Schedule of Fire Code Fees 

  

15  Flammable/Combustible Above or Underground Tanks (New)   

    Tanks above 500 gallons  $150.00/Tank plus state fee 

    Tanks below 500 gallons  $100.00/Tank plus state fee                      

16  Flammable/Combustible Tank (Alterations)    $100.00/Tank plus state fee 

17  Underground Tank Removal   $150.00/Tank plus state fee                          

18  Bonfires/Open Burning*                $50.00 plus state fee            

19  Fire Works Display**                  $50.00 plus state fee                                 

20  Open flame Public Performance         $50.00 plus state fee                        

24  Hazard Materials/Chemical Use $75.00/Material Type/Control Area plus state fee 

25  Flammable/Combustible Liquid Use/Storage    $75.00 plus state fee 

26  Compressed/ Liquid Gas Use/Storage Tank     $75.00/Tank plus state fee 

27  Flammable/ Combination Above Ground Tank    $75.00/Tank plus state fee 

28  Flammable/ Combination Above Ground Alterations $75.00/Tank plus state fee 

29  Stationary Per Tank Removal Above 2000 Gallons   $100.00/Tank plus state fee 

    Stationary Per Tank Removal 2000 Gallons and Below  $75.00/Tank plus state fee 

32  Non-Medical Helicopter Landings within City       $50.00 plus state fee 

33  Helicopter Use (Construction, etc.)         $150.00/hour plus state fee 

34  Hood Suppression Systems  1% of construction cost plus state fee 

34  Tents 400 square feet or larger  $50.00 plus state fee 

35  Fire Department Operational Permit for existing commercial occupancies 

 with a change of commercial occupant   $75.00  

36  Fire Department Administrative Fee  $25.00 

 

Construction Permits and Fire Department Operational Permits for 

existing commercial occupancies for a change of commercial occupant:  

Permit fees shall include one (1) inspection and one (1) reinspection.  

All subsequent reinspections shall be billed at the rate of $75.00 per 

hour with one (1) minimum to be billed in ¼ hour increments thereafter. 

 

Fire Systems Construction permit fees shall cover Fire Department 

Operational Permit for new occupancies. 

             

 * Cost is not inclusive of One Firefighter 

 ** Cost is not inclusive of Two Firefighters and One Fire Officer 

 

Exception: Interior home heating oil tanks. 

 
(d) Mechanical Permit Fees 

 

For use groups R-3 - R-4 structure the cost will be $40.00 for 

installation or replacement of the first device and $10.00 for each 

device thereafter. 

 

Fee for installation of fireplace, wood burning stove or coal stove 

shall be $30.00 

  

Fee for installation of Mechanical System in all other use groups, 

buildings new and remodeled is as follows:  1% up to $30,000.00 cost of 

work plus .5% of cost of work over $30,000.00 with a minimum fee of 

$75.00. 

 

 See section (h) regarding State fee added to all permits. 

 

 See section (i) regarding additional reinspection fees. 
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 (e)  Plumbing Fees 

 

Minimum permit fee for any construction is forty dollars ($40.00) which 

includes three (3) fixtures or waste discharge devises plus ten dollars 

($10.00) for each additional fixture or waste discharge device. 

  

For the purpose of this Section, plumbing appliances and plumbing 

appurtenance shall also be construed to be a fixture. 

  

1 to 3 fixtures or devices     40.00 

each additional       10.00 

sanitary sewer - new, replacement, repair   40.00 

water service – new, replacement    30.00 

storm sewer connection      30.00 

replace or alteration of drainage or vent piping -    10.00 each fixture 

water heaters       20.00 

 

 Non-Residential Work 

 

Fee for installation of Plumbing Systems in all other use groups, 

buildings new and remodeled, is as follows: 1% up to $30,000.00 cost of 

work plus .5% of cost of work over $30,000.00 with the minimum fee of 

$75.00.  

 

 See section (h) regarding State fee added to all permits. 

 

 See section (i) regarding additional reinspection fees. 

 

(f)   Zoning Permit Fees 

 

  Change of Use 60.00 

 

 Fences  30.00 

 

 Home office use 30.00 

  

 New Use 60.00 

 

 Parking Lots 

     0-$5,000.00      50.00  

     Over $5,000  50.00 + .1% of cost thereafter 

 

 Sheds and Accessory Buildings for Residential 

      Up to 100 square feet 15.00 

      101 to 200 square feet 30.00 

      201 to 300 square feet 50.00 

      301 to 600 square feet            150.00 

      601 feet and over            200.00 

  

 Signs 

      0-100 square feet 50.00 

      101-200 square feet 75.00 

      Over 201 square feet      150.00 

      Portable curb sign 50.00 
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 (g) Refunds 

 

Twenty percent (20%) of the total permit fee will be retained by the 

City of Bethlehem if the permit is revoked or withdrawn or expires. 

  

 (h)  Training Fee 

  

Add Four Dollars ($4.00) to every permit issued to cover state-imposed 

training fee. 

 

 (i)  Reinspection Fees (other than fire code fees) 

 

After the first re-inspection a fee of $50.00 per additional inspection 

visit will be required prior to additional inspections.  

 

 

(Ord. 3038. Passed 10/22/85; Ord. 3242. Passed 2/7/89; 

 Ord. 4255. Passed 6/15/04; Ord. 4421. Passed 3/6/07; 

 Ord. 2010-4.  Passed 3/16/10) 

 

 

NOTE:  Article 1702, Certificates of Use and Occupancy, of the Codified 

Ordinances, was deleted in its entirety and replaced with this new Article 

1702, Fees for the Enforcement of the Pennsylvania Uniform Construction Code, 

Act No. 45-1999. 
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ARTICLE 1702 

 

Certificates of Use and Occupancy 

 

 

1702.01 Definitions. 

1702.02 General Regulations. 

1702.99 Penalty. 

 

 

CROSS REFERENCES 

 

Registration, Sale and Transfer of Real Estate - See ADM. Art. 119 

 

             

 

 

NOTE: This Article was deleted in its entirety and incorporated in new Article 

1701, Pennsylvania Uniform Construction Code.  (Ord. 4254 – Passed 

6/15/04) 
 


